Tommy Mac Discussions Forums Fix-it Forum: Home Improvement & Do It Yourself Repair Forum PLEASE Help with plaster walls and bad paint color

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      shells2756
      Participant

Hi, I chose the wrong color yellow for my living room’s plaster walls. I painted the whole room hoping the color would tone down after it dried. It was good paint and i could not return it since they mixed the color i requested. Anyways, I desperately need to tone it down and have been looking at different faux techniques.

I have never done anything like that before and am worried i will choose one that i mess up. I was hoping having textured plaster walls already, that i could just add some paint somehow to bring out those textures.

I don’t want my walls to be dark as my living room is so small and i wanted it to look larger. All the things i read about bringing out texture or color washing say to add a darker color than the base which in my case is a deep yellow that is shocking to say the least in such a small room. I don’t have alot of money to just repaint the whole thing. Can i add a creme color on top somehow to just let some of the yellow show through? I thought maybe a less expensive paint mixed with water and ragged on or something. I dont’ know. The more i read the more mixed up i get. Can someone pls help me?!!!

Faron79
      Participant

One of the easy things to do would be using a Light-Cream color, mixed with a Glaze, to “mute” the your deeper base color.
      >>> First…If you have some of your original paint left, put a couple of coats on a primed piece of 2′ x 2′ cardboard/foam-board, then experiment with using different ratios of glaze and the new coordinating color.