Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      albertshaw
      Participant

I’m new to the burbs.

So I got this blower for leaves. The thing works fine blows all the leaves away from it’s path.

However, it just seems like the blower redistributes the leaves and there is no way to herd the leaves into a pile so I can rake it up or vacuum shred them.

Am I missing something here? How am I suppose to use a blower. Am I suppose to blow everything to one side of the yard? Do I just blow things off the flowerbed and use a lawn vac?

Sorry for the dumb question. Any detailed insight will be appreciated. I am clueless here so please provide careful instructions.

tomh
      Participant

I think I’ll take a stab at this. I have had a Stihl backpack blower for about 5 years now, and therefore, do not have to hire a gardener like all my neighbors. I can create my own nuisance. Blowers are great for removing leaves from planting beds, mulch, stones, yards or whereever. The throttle setting will determine whether you remove the mulch, stones and plants in addition to leaves. The trick is to use enough throttle to lift off debris, without removing the underlying desirable material.

Now on full throttle setting, you could remove all leaves and trash from your yard and conveniently blow them over to the neighbors. It unlikely they will attribute the intrusion to natural occurance and you may hear about it. The preferred method is to corral the debris into a pile by surrounding it. As the pile gets tighter, you decrease air flow. This make the pile higher without distributing it. The final step is manually picking up the material and disposing of it.

Have fun!

Giddaymate
      Participant