Viewing 27 reply threads
  • Author
      John

I have a Hampton Bay fan, that is one of these remote jobbies with a dimmer & Speed adjustment all via the remote. The only thing that the power switch does it turn it off or on. A Couple of weeks back the remote just stopped working. The remote receiver apparently is toast. A new remote didn’t correct the problem. I have a replacement remote reciever unit now, but the question is this:

Where is the dang thing? Actually in the ceiling? Or is it in the bell of the fan itself?

I have little experience in this area, and any assistance would be greatly apprecaited!

Thanks!

JP in Atlanta.

BobB

JP
      I recently installed a ceiling fan with remote. I think it was Harbor Breeze. The receiver went into the canopy assembly that covered the ceiling electric box. There really wasn’t enough room inside the housing of the fan itselffor the receiver. Although folding those sheathed electrical cable wires and fitting the reciever up into that assembly wasn’t exactly my definition of fun.
      BTW; Ohio is happy that you sent us Rocker….so far.

Joe

The reciever you are talking about is in the upper Bell/Dome assembly.where you can see the dip switches,that’s where it’s at.

bonnie falder

looking for ceiling fan and light remote. the brand name is mood setter. can you help?

BJ

If it is a ceiling fan remote control, the receiver is either in the canopy (at the ceiling), in the switch housing below the blades, or just above the motor. See http://www.efanparts.com for pictures of the transmitters and receivers.

Michael Romo

Hello, I have had the same problem with my receiver going out. Do you know where I can purchase a replacement remote receiver?

I have two hampton bay fans same make and model. I changed the jumper switches and confirmed the remote is good so I just need to replace the receiver.

Any suggestions are greatly appreciated

msr

Mike Santerre