Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Unregistered-Clyde

Ok, is this legal to code?

Breaker – switch (master) – light fixture – switch (A) – light fixture (A)

This is in my basement. I want to hit the master switch to shut all lights off in my basement but I want to be able to switch on and off light fixture A. The master switch is a 4-way but I don’t think that matters. Light A will only go on if both the master and switch A are both ON. I want to be able to dim A but not dim the whole circuit but still turn everything off with the master switch.

HKestenholz
      Participant

I’m not an electrician, so ?I don’t usually get too involved in answering questions best left to that profession. But … it is an interesting thought. It would seem that so long as the amps running through the switch doesn’t exceed the ratings of the connected wire and the switch, the first switch in line cuts the rest off, creating no problem from that point on. Switching the rest of them on or off should and would do nothing as they are no longer passing electricity, which is reasonable to assume – if you like that word.

Perhaps someone or electrician can know of some other reason to avoid the situation.

http://www.heatpro.us energy businessmen’s knowledge

Yes, you really have to find out the MAKE and MODEL to get good answers. There IS more than one machine made.

Billhart
      Participant

In fact some lights have there own switch builtin. So in affect you have the same thing.

problemasypreguntas
      Participant

The other day I plugged in my shop vac, tuned it on and all of a sudden the power turned off, lights, mind you this is the 2nd floor where there is a full bath and 2 bedrooms. Part of my bedroom power does not work, the 2nd bedroom power is totaly out and so is the bathroom.