• This topic is empty.
Viewing 3 reply threads
  • Author
      Jay J – Moderator

Well, it’s been a while. I’m still studying my MCSE tests and passing them. I’ve passed my 4th test (which was the hardest one of all 7) and am hopefully on my way to certification. I’ve been on the site every, EVERY day, keeping my eye on the SPAM and such. (I bet you’ve been wondering how that stuff has been disappearing so quickly …) Before the end of October, I should be back.

Moderator, Steve has been doing an outstanding job holding down the fort. Right! – Who needs me??! 😉 And his trusty helps such as Jason, Dodgeman, Wick, Brian Wood, LJ in TX, Jennifer, Harold, Scott, Billy, and I’m sure I left some names out, are keeping this BBS up. I appreciate everyone’s contributions. I, like you, don’t get paid a cent. I hope you’re all continue to find gratification in your work on the BBS, as I always did/do. NOW, for a matter at hand. (And I just help w/a post below mine on a related topic …)

I need to hang up some gingerbread on the porch. The porch soffit is capped w/aluminum. The porch-posts are vinyl. AND, the gingerbread is some type of composite material. It doesn’t seem heavy enough to be wood. I may have to make a ‘dig’ in it to see what it is but for now, let’s assume it’s a composite material of some sort.

I’ve contacted LiquidNails.com (twice) and they can’t recommend one of their products or even a competitors product that I can use to glue/bond the gingerbread to the post and soffit. They tell me that one of the surfaces needs to be porous. My gingerbread is sealed and finish-painted. I know I can probably hang them up w/90 degree L-brackets. I want to avoid that and use a combination of ‘pins’ (inserted/screwed into the vinyl and soffit) which are then ‘slipped/slid’ into pre-drilled holes in the gingergread (for stability). I just need some sort of adhesive to work with my pins.

Any ideas/thoughts???

Jay J -Moderator

PS: God Bless America!

Steve S.

J. Jay,